European Minorities

FUEN Members

Межрегиональная общественная организация ногайцев "Бирлик"

The Interregional Public Organisation of the Nogai People "Birlik"

Chairman Ramazan Kereitov
Kosmonawtow Strasse 13-16
RUS 369015 Tscherkessk Republik, Dagestan

+7 878 2250164

Nogay Turks are a Turkic group which had a vast territory of residence in the Crimea, Northern Caucasus, in the South of Volga region as well as in the northern Black Sea coast, northern Caspian region up until mid 19th century. 

Currently, Nogay Turks are divided into two groups - the Trans-Kuban and Kumyk. Trans-Kuban, in turn, are divided into five subgroups. Nogay Turks historically covered a large territory in their continuing conquest of territory and expanding their khanate, prompting Russia for centuries to the policy limiting their places of residence and relocation of Nogay Turks.

At present, Nogays live in the North Caucasus and in the South of the Volga region. The Nogay steppe is the area of compact Nogays settlement in Dagestan, Stavropol Territory and the Chechen Republic. A part of the descendants of Nogays moved to Turkey and Romania in the 18-19th centuries. 
The decision to create a national Nogay district in Karachay-Cherkessia has been put forward in the summer of 2005 followed by approval after the referendum held on October 8, 2006. 


  • Political Participation
  • Fundamental Rights
  • Linguistic Diversity
  • Solidarity with the Roma
  • European Citizens' Initiative
  • European Network
  • Forum of the European Minorities / House of Minorities


Больше фотографий на Фликре